Harrison County Regional Sewer District

January 6, 2010 Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: January 6, 2010

11:30 am

Harrison County Community Foundation

Corydon, IN 47112

In Attendance:

Tom Tucker Board Member (President)

Dan Lee Board Member

Darin Duncan
Gary Davis
Bill Byrd
Rusty Sizemore
Board Member (Secretary)
Board Member (VP/Treasurer)
Board Member (Town of Milltown)
Board Member (Town of Lanesville)

J.R. Eckart Board Member

Fred Cammack Board Member (Town of Corydon)*

Tony Combs Board Member Chris Byrd Board Attorney

Bob Woosley Heritage Engineering (District's Engineer)

Steve Tolliver Aqua Utility Services (Berkshire WWTP Operator)

Absent:

Rob Huckaby Stantec

Action Items:

1. Board Members:

- i. Commissioner Appointments: JR Eckart and Tom Tucker were reappointed to the Board. New four year terms began on January 1, 2010. Terms will expire on December 31, 2013.
- **ii.** Town Voting Member: The Town voting member for 2010 will be Fred Cammack representing the Town of Corydon.
- iii. Appointment of Board Officers: A motion was made by Tony Combs, seconded by Dan Lee to appoint Tom Tucker as President, Gary Davis as Vice President/Treasurer, and Darin Duncan as Secretary. Motion passed unanimously.
- **2. December 1, 2009 Meeting Minutes**. *Motion made by J.R. Eckart, seconded by Tony Combs to approve the minutes. Motion passed unanimously.*
- 3. December 16, 2009 Meeting Minutes. Minutes were amended as follows: Item ii a (Stormwater Issue in Lanesville), seventh sentence was revised to read "Tom reminded the Board that Baron Hill's office has been in contact with him." *Motion made by Fred*

^{*} Town Voting Member

Cammack, seconded by Darin Duncan to approve the minutes as amended. Motion passed unanimously.

4. Ordinance No. 20010-01: Amendment to Ordinance No. 2008-01 "Policy Governing Extensions and Improvements to the HCRSD's Sewer System". The Board discussed the details of this amendment at length. A motion was made by JR Eckart, seconded by Gary Davis to table this item for future consideration. Motion passed unanimously. The Ordinance was officially tabled.

5. New Salisbury Sanitary Sewer Project

- i. **EDA Grant Update:** An informational meeting is scheduled for January 7th at 1 pm at the office of Heritage Engineering (Jeffersonville office) with Adam Dickey, Field Representative for Congressman Baron Hill's Office. This meeting will be used to provide the Congressman an update on our project and give other necessary details.
- ii. Economic Development Corporation (EDC): The District met with the EDC on Dec 16, 2009. Darin Duncan, Tom Tucker, and Bob Woosley were in attendance representing the District and made a presentation to them regarding the need for additional funding for the project. Tom Tucker reported that the EDC has decided to award the District with a \$95,000 grant to use towards the project. If the District chooses to do so, this grant would allow for the lowering of the \$10,000 project cost (cost for each property owner) to be lowered to \$5,000.

6. Other Business:

- **i. Approved Invoices**: A motion was made by Darin Duncan, seconded by Tony Combs to approve the following invoices:
 - a. **REMC (\$799.77)**, Electric at WWTP
 - b. **US Postal Service (\$96),** P.O. Box
 - c. Bureau of Motor Vehicles (\$15), Title for Generator Trailer
- ii. HCCF Grant Submittal: Bob Woosley is finalizing the grant submittal requesting funds to cover final design costs for the New Salisbury Sanitary Sewer Project. Grant submittal deadline is January 15, 2009. A motion was made by JR Eckart, seconded by Dan Lee to allow an officer of the District to sign the grant application outside of a regularly scheduled meeting. Motion passed unanimously.
- **iii. Stormwater Issue in Lanesville:** The Board instructed Bob Woosley to approach the Commissioners to determine if they want to the District to assume oversight of stormwater issues or if they simply want the District to address this single issue at Mr. Courtney's property.

Next Meeting:

1. Board Meeting: **Wed January 20, 2010 at 8:30 am** @ Harrison County Community Foundation Building.

End of Minutes

| Approved By: | | |
|--------------------------------|------------|--|
| Tom Tucker, President | Tony Combs | |
| Darin Duncan, Secretary | Daniel Lee | |
| Gary Davis, V.P./Treasurer | JR Eckart | |
| Towns - Corydon (Fred Cammack) | | |