Harrison County Regional Sewer District

October 4th, 2006 Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: October 4th, 2006

11:30 am

Harrison County Commissioner's Room

Harrison County Courthouse

Corydon, IN

In Attendance: Gary Davis Board Member (Treasurer)

Daniel Lee Board Member

Darin Duncan Board Member (Secretary)

Herb Schneider Board Member (Town of Lanesville)

Tom Tucker Board Member (President)

Tony Combs Board Member

Fred Cammack

Jim Pevlor

Bob Woosley

Steve Hall

Board Member (Town of Corydon)

Board Member (Town of Milltown)

Heritage Engineering (RSD Consultant)

FMSM Engineers (RSD Consultant)

Chris Byrd Board Attorney

Absent: JR Eckart Board Member

Guests: Rob Downey Alpine Environmental

Jonni Schmidt DiLaura Schmidt Cabinet Company

Action Items:

1. Approved October 4th, 2006 Meeting Minutes (motion made by Gary Davis and seconded by Darin Duncan).

- 2. Schmidt Cabinet Company: A motion was made and seconded to allow the District to submit a letter to IDEM on behalf of Schmidt Cabinet explaining our plans for the region and the potential projects planned that will have an impact on Schmidt's wastewater treatment facility. IDEM officials will be contacted directly to invite them to a future meeting to discuss our plans. The intent is to ensure IDEM that Schmidt is working closely with the District to correct the deficiencies in their system. The District's goal is connect Schmidt to a sanitary sewer system that is owned and operated by the District. The letter to IDEM will be submitted to all Board members for review and comment by the end of the day on Oct. 6th. A final copy of the letter will be delivered to IDEM no later than Thursday Oct. 12th.
- 3. Standards Committee: Darin Duncan was appointed to lead this committee. Heritage/FMSM will compile a draft set of standards. These draft standards will be distributed to Darin and the Towns for input.

- 4. Stormwater Ordinance Stakeholders Group: Heritage/FMSM will distribute an updated list to the Board members. This list will contain the names of local developers. This list shall be finalized at the next meeting.
- 5. Stormwater Oversight: Bob Woosley will attend the next Commissioner's Meeting (Oct. 16th) to make a request for transferring Stormwater Oversight to the District.

Summary of Items Discussed

- 1. Schmidt Cabinet Company: Mr. Rob Downey (Alpine Environmental) and Ms. Jonni Schmidt DiLaura (Schmidt Cabinet) were in attendance to discuss the wastewater treatment system at Schmidt. Mr. Downey gave an overview of the issues associated with the on-site system. See attached Schmidt timeline (Attachment "A" to meeting minutes).
 - Current system is a lagoon system.
 - Agreed Order stipulated that repairs be made to replace lagoon.
 - Work was ready to proceed last year on a drip irrigation system. Cost of this system was approximately \$80,000.
 - Work on drip system was halted in hopes that the RSD would have a project planned that would allow Schmidt to connect into a public sewer.
 - IDEM has recently levied additional fines and penalties on Schmidt due to no action being taken on replacing the lagoon.
 - Schmidt has until October 15th to file their plan of action with IDEM on the corrective measures that will need to be taken.
 - Questions asked by the RSD Board:
 - When was Schmidt founded? 1959
 - Has Schmidt ever received grants or other tax abatements from the County? No
 - Ms. DiLaura offered the following: since the company has been in business they have paid \$1.3M in property taxes, \$50M in payroll taxes, and currently have 60 employees.

After much discussion it was determined that the Board would write a letter to IDEM explaining the District's plans for providing service to the area. This letter will need to be submitted prior to October 15th. IDEM officials will also be invited to attend a meeting with the District to discuss the District's plans in detail.

Next Meeting:

- 1. October 18th, 2006, 8:30 a.m. @ Harrison County Commissioner's Room
- 2. Agenda Items:
 - Stakeholders List for Stormwater Group
 - Hospital finalize service

Minutes prepared by: Heritage Engineering/FMSM Engineers

End of Minutes

Approved By:		
Tom Tucker, President	Tony Combs	
Darin Duncan, Secretary	Daniel Lee	
Gary Davis, Treasurer	 JR Eckart	
	 Towns	